Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation
Main content start

Eight Stanford Engineering faculty elected to National Academy of Engineering

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions an engineer can receive.

Eight professors from the Stanford University School of Engineering are among the newly elected National Academy of Engineering (NAE) members, the NAE said today.

According to the NAE, membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature,” and to the “pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

There are just 2,250 U.S. members of NAE and 211 foreign associates. The eight newly elected members bring Stanford Engineering’s NAE membership to more than 80. 

“Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions any engineer can receive and the Stanford School of Engineering is tremendously proud of these much-deserving recipients from our faculty,” said Jim Plummer, Dean of the Stanford School of Engineering.

The eight Stanford faculty elected in 2013 are:

Craig T. Bowman, professor of mechanical engineering, For contributions to understanding pollutant formation processes in combustion systems to reduce harmful emissions.

Gregory G. Deierlein, professor, department of civil and environmental engineering, and John A. Blume Professor in the School of Engineering, For development of advanced structural analysis and design techniques and their implementation in design codes.

David L. Dill, professor, department of computer science, For the development of techniques to verify hardware, software and electronic voting systems.

Abbas El Gamal, Hitachi America Professor in the School of Engineering, and professor and chair, department of electrical engineering, For contributions in information theory, information technology and image sensors.

Charbel H. Farhat, Vivian Hoff Professor of Aircraft Structures, and chairman, department of aeronautics and astronautics, For contributions to computing fluid-structure interactions and their applications in aeronautical, naval and mechanical engineering.

Curtis W. Frank, William M. Keck Sr. Professor of Chemical Engineering, For elucidation of molecular organization in polymers and other soft materials.

Stephen R. Quake, Lee Otterson Professor of Bioengineering and Applied Physics, and co-chair, department of bioengineering, For achievements in single-cell analysis and large-scale integration of microfluidic devices.

Eric S.G. Shaqfeh, Lester Levi Carter Professor, professor and chair, department of chemical engineering, and professor of mechanical engineering, For contributions to dynamics and rheology of complex fluids, including polymeric liquids, vesicles and fiber suspensions.